Dakota County Technical College Library

Dental Assistant Subject Guide

Your Librarian

Michael Kirby


library@dctc.edu

651-423-8366

Online Reference

Reference books and online resources like Britannica Academic, Credo Reference, and Salem Online are great for improving your background knowledge on almost any topic. These resources also provide images and videos, which you can use to liven up your papers and presentations.

 

Britannica Academic

 

Credo Reference

 

Salem Online

Evaluating Web Sources
Cite Your Sources

Writing Center

 

The Writing Center offers writing help to all DCTC students, including help with citing your sources. You can schedule an appointment by calling 651-423-8420 or visiting the Learning Center, room 2-141L.

 

How to Cite Your Sources

 

There are different styles for citing the sources you use in your assignments. Your instructor will let you know whether to use APA, Chicago, MLA, or some other style.

 

Here are some introductory guides to these styles from the Purdue Online Writing Lab:

   

Our catalog and most databases provide citations for the books, videos, and articles you find in them. Just look for a link that says Cite or Citation, then select the appropriate style. It's easy to copy and paste citations into your bibliography!

 

Avoid Plagiarism

 

"Plagiarism includes, but is not limited to, the use, by paraphrase or direct quotation, of the published or unpublished work of another person without full and clear acknowledgment. It also includes the unacknowledged use of materials prepared by another person or agency engaged in the selling of term papers or other academic materials."

 

This definition of plagiarism comes from page 1 of DCTC's Student Code of Conduct. See how easy that was?

 

Citing your sources is an essential step in the research process. This allows others to verify your information and gives credit to previous researchers and writers for their hard work.

Follow the Library on Social Media
Library Hours

Fall & Spring Semesters:

Monday - Thursday:
7:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday:
7:30 AM to 3:30 PM

 

Summer Sessions:

Monday - Thursday:
8:00 AM to 1:00 PM

About This Guide

Welcome to the DCTC Library's Dental Assistant subject guide. This guide will help you to

 
  • find online reference resources
  • find books, videos, ebooks, and streaming videos
  • find magazine, journal, and newspaper articles
  • identify trustworthy information on the web
  • and cite your sources

For a basic introduction to the resources and services available from the DCTC Library, please see our Library 101 guide.


U.S. Army Africa/Flickr

Find Books & Videos

MnPALS Plus: Our Catalog

 

Use our catalog, MnPALS Plus, to find books and videos in our collection, as well as ebooks and streaming videos.

 

The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify Search options on the right side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.

 

MnPALS Plus

 
 

Our collection is organized by Library of Congress call numbers. If you like to browse, most books and videos about dentistry are shelved in the RK call number range. Ask a librarian if you need help finding anything.

 

Interlibrary Loan

 

If we don't have what you're looking for, you can expand your search to include all libraries in the MnPALS system. You can request items from other libraries through interlibrary loan (ILL). You'll receive a notice when the items are ready to pick up here at the DCTC Library.

 

Films on Demand

 

Films On Demand offers nearly 45,000 streaming videos, which you can also find in our catalog.




 

EBSCO eBooks Collection

 

There are more than 161,000 ebooks in our EBSCO eBooks Collection, which you can also find in our catalog. Many of these ebooks have to do with dentistry.


EBSCOhost eBooks
Find Articles

Below you'll find just a few of our many Online Resources for finding magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. Each database is different, but there will be ways to limit and focus your results so that you find the most relevant and useful articles available.

 

Please visit the Library or contact us if you have any questions about our databases or if you'd like help finding articles on your topic.‚Äč

 

Our EBSCO databases are an excellent place to search for magazine and journal articles. One of these databases, CINAHL, offers full-text articles from more than 770 nursing and allied health journals, including dentistry journals.



 

Our Gale databases are another great place to find magazine and journal articles.


Gale
 

Search over 1,300 newspapers and news sources with ProQuest Newspapers.


ProQuest


Find full-text articles, legal information, and business content from more than 15,000 sources using LexisNexis Academic.
LexisNexis Academic

 

If you have a citation for an article from a specific publication, use Journal Finder to see if we have access to the full text.

LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library
 

LearningExpress Library is an outstanding resource for academic and career development with hundreds of online tutorials, practice tests, and ebooks.

 

The Career Center module includes an ebook and two practice tests to help you prepare for the Dental Assisting Exam (both CDA and RDA). You'll also find ebooks to help you with your job search, interviewing, networking, and workplace skills.


Dental Assisting Exam
 

The College Center module can help you develop your math, reading, writing, and science skills.

Selected Ebooks

Here are just a few of the ebooks you'll find in our collection:

 

Advanced Ceramics for DentistryAdvanced Ceramics for Dentistry
2014

 
 

Evidence-based Dentistry for the Dental HygienistEvidence-based Dentistry for the Dental Hygienist
2014

 
 

Career As a Dental AssistantCareer As a Dental Assistant
2009

 
Pinterest

Check out our Dental Assistant board on Pinterest! Feel free to send us pins that you think would benefit the DCTC community and check back often!


Powered by SubjectsPlus